About Us‎ > ‎

Your Child's Development

Your child's development and the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The framework focuses on children’s individuality, the need for strong attachments, working in partnership with parents and a great environment that is suitable for the need and stage of development that each child moves through whilst at nursery. At Hollingbury Park Playgroup we can provide all of these things which will enrich your child's experiences.

Your child will have a key worker who will forge a strong relationship with your child and yourself. Your child’s key worker will ensure learning and play is personal to your child making their day fun, exciting and meaningful.

The EYFS brings together: The Birth to Three Matters framework, Curriculum Guidance for the Foundation Stage, and the National Standards for Under 8s Daycare and Childminding.
An EYFS pack is available from the Department’s publications house on request (telephone DfES Publications orderline: 0845 60 222 60 and quote 00012-2007PCK-EN), and for free download from the government website (at http://www.gov.uk/government/publications/early-years-foundation-stage-framework--2 ), along with the CD-Rom of all the resource materials which is also available on-line.
The Early Years Foundation Stage – is a central part of the ten year childcare strategy:

- Ensuring a consistent approach to care and learning from birth to the end of the Foundation Stage.

- Incorporating elements of the National Standards.

- Has a play-based approach

- Focuses on stages of development rather than chronological, age based teaching and learning

The overarching aim of the EYFS is to help children achieve the Every Child Matters five outcomes:
  •  Staying safe
  •  Being healthy
  •  Enjoying and achieving
  •  Making a positive contribution
  •  Achieving economic wellbeing
The EYFS aims to help children achieve the 5 outcomes by:
1. Setting standards
2. Promoting Equality of opportunity

3. Creating a framework for partnership working

4. Improving quality and consistency

5. Laying a secure foundation for future learning and development


The EYFS principles are grouped into 4 themes

 A unique child
Principle – Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured

 Positive Relationships

Principle – Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or a key person

 Enabling Environments

Principle – The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning

 Learning and Development

Principle – Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of learning and development are equally important and inter-connected.



There are 5 Welfare Requirements

 Safeguarding and promoting children’s welfare

 Suitable person

 Suitable premises, environment and equipment




For each Welfare requirement there are:

General requirements

Specific requirements

Statutory Guidance to which providers should have regard (Further information is provided in the Practice guidance)

There are six stages of development and each one is matched, in all 6 areas of learning, to a photo of a baby or child in the practice guidance. The stages overlap: 
  •   Birth to 11 months
  •   8 to 20 months
  •  16 to 26 months
  •  22 to 36 months
  •  30 to 50 months
  •  40 to 60 months (can be 71 mths for a September born child)

Stages are more important than ages and every area of development IS EQUALLY IMPORTANT; 
Personal, Social and Emotional development, communication and language, Physical development, Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the World, Expressive Arts and Design.